Staind is a American rock band that formed back in 1995 and since then have blessed our ears with amazing vocals and song lyrics that are so relateable, that it is heartbreaking as I will explain below with their song Pressure.


It never ceases to amaze me that we are living in such a world where everything is rushed and has to be done straight away! You barley get time for yourself because in the eye of the corporate world time is money and it seems as if everyone has adopted this line of thinking.

The pressure in a work environment and even in everyday life whether it be paying bills, rent, groceries it all adds up and suddenly there doesn’t seem to be time for anything anymore and slowly but surly you will lose a piece of yourself, because the longer you ignore your desires or the things that you love, it will have an impact on you within a year where you realize you don’t know who you are anymore.

And what is most frustrating about this, is that we are made to believe that it is us who are incompetent. That, if you can’t juggle all the demands at work, you should work harder or smarter because in essence what this means is that you are not doing enough. And why can’t you just pay all your bills, and do your weekly or monthly shopping like everyone else? Surely you have an hour to spare doing this?

After working long hours with few rewards (still not having completed the work assignment but have 5 more stacking up which should be done by Monday and don’t complain because then you are ungrateful and there are hundreds of other people who would love to do your job) and have to stay up late to not miss the deadline (again) for paying the bills, where do we turn to to get some relief?

Alcohol, pills, gambling, binging the list goes on, in the case of the artist, it was Valium. In order to deal with the pressure and wanting to be like everyone who can do their job seemingly without a sweat when in reality we all have our vices behind closed doors because we are ashamed that we aren’t able to ‘cope’ or ‘deal’ with all this pressure. As the song says, ‘Not sleeping’, at night laying awake thinking of all that still needs to be done ‘can’t stay awake’ at work because it is hard to function without sleep.

During all of this, there doesn’t seem to be any time for yourself, so the only way you can be ‘happy’ or live for another day, is to pop ‘n pill or have another glass of wine or beer because at least there’s that…

There needs to be a discussion. We need to connect, reach out more and talk about this. There is a difference to wanting to be heard and complaining that I think it is the main reason we are shying away from each other. You are not weak for seeking answers and finding a way out…

…you are not alone…


Artist: Staind 

Song: Pressure 

I just need this to be alright
I can’t feel this another night

I can’t take this I come unglued
I might breakdown in front of you
Necessary to medicate
I’m not sleeping, can’t stay awake

Can’t see through this
Too much pressure
Drowning in this
Too much pressure

If you need me I’ll be here
Half unconscious to escape my fear

I can’t take this I come unglued
I might breakdown in front of you
Necessary to medicate
I’m not sleeping, can’t stay awake

Can’t see through this
Too much pressure
Drowning in this
Too much pressure

My head hurts this shit isn’t getting me high
My chest is so tight I think I am going to die
My stomach’s in knots and the room starts to spin
As I wait for this Valium to slowly kick in

Can’t see through this
Too much pressure
Drowning in this
Too much pressure

