Stacie Orrico was a great pop artist and sang a variety of catchy songs including the one below released in 2003. Today, I now more than ever can relate to the lyrics of the song…


This song struck a chord from the very beginning. Have you ever questioned why we all feel the same way she does within the first verse of the song? What is it that we are all looking for and why do we feel deprived? Where have we lost everything to such an extent that we are unable to pin point the reality of the situation…which is we don’t know what it is that we are missing.

And to live for the next “temporary high” whether that be festivals, concerts, weekends, bars, movies… it is not enough. It is not nearly enough to chase the next temporary high, because it never satisfies, it doesn’t stay long enough to fill you up, it only gives you taste of something that you can never have, which in turn makes you feel empty.

We’ve got time on our hands, everyday after work, before work, weekends, holidays but it feels wasted away, because we know there is more out there than this mundane routine and it is not fault to ourselves that we feel this way, but rather deeper than that which is why we are questioning, hoping and searching…there’s gotta be more…

Artist: Stacie Orrico

Song: There’s gotta be more to lifeĀ 

I’ve got it all, but I feel so deprived
I go up, I come down and I’m emptier inside
Tell me what is this thing that I feel like I’m missing
And why can’t I let go

There’s gotta be more to life
Than chasing down every temporary high to satisfy me
‘Cause the more that I’m
Tripping out thinking there must be more to life
Well it’s life, but I’m sure, there’s gotta be more
Than wanting more

I’ve got the time and I’m wasting it slowly
Here in this moment I’m half way out the door
Onto the next thing, I’m searching for something that’s missing

There’s gotta be more to life
Than chasing down every temporary high to satisfy me
‘Cause the more that I’m
Tripping out thinking there must be more to life
Well it’s life, but I’m sure, there’s gotta be more
Than wanting more

Than waiting on something other than this
Why am I feelin’ like there’s something I missed

There’s gotta be more to life
Than chasing down every temporary high to satisfy me
‘Cause the more that I’m
Tripping out thinking there must be more to life
Well it’s life, but I’m sure, there’s gotta be more
Than wanting more

There’s gotta be more to life
Than chasing down every temporary high to satisfy me
‘Cause the more that I’m
Tripping out thinking there must be more to life
Well it’s life, but I’m sure, there’s gotta be more
Than wanting more

